2014 Manawatu Hospitality Award Results


Bidvest Restaurant of the Year: The establishment offers a fine menu, service and welcoming ambience. It has ease of access and professional, well-tuned waiting staff.

1             Aberdeen on Broadway

2             Nero Restaurant

3             Table 188 Kitchen and Bar



MHA Ethnic Restaurant of the Year: The establishment offers a fine menu, service and welcoming ambience and reflects authentic national cuisine. It has ease of access and professional, well-tuned waiting staff.

1             Yatai Japanese Izakaya Restaurant

2             Yeda Restaurant


3             Indian Indulgence



Davis Trading Café of the Year:   The café offers vibrancy, with personable staff. It’s in tune with current café trends and expectations. The coffee is superb with great food and slick service.

1             Café Express

2             Café Jacko


3             Stage Door Café



Chef’s Choice Caterer of the Year:   An individual or company which provides quality food and beverage menus served by professional staff with consummate decorum. They heed all requirements of the event and anticipate every contingency.

1            Not Now James Catering

2             Hester Guy Catering


3             Creative Catering



Tootill Electrical Takeaway of the Year:   The takeaway provides quality fast food along with exceptional customer service. Offers value and variety.

1             Burger Fuel

2             Fishtown Takeaways


3             Star of India Authentic Takeaways


MHA Pub of the Year: Friendly, comfortable surrounds. Good food and beverage and service with a smile.

1             The Celtic Inn

2             Rose & Crown Olde English Pub


3             Speights Ale House



MHA Bar/Night Spot of the Year: Great atmosphere and music with a broad selection of drinks. Trendy, fashionable night spot. The place to be seen.

1              The Brewers Apprentice

2             The Fish Cocktail & Wine Bar


3             Bubbles Champagne and Wine Bar



Manawatu Standard Supplier of the Year: Consistent and prompt product delivery. Committed to top quality and innovative products. Demonstrates customer loyalty.

1             Davis Trading

2             Bidvest Food Service


3             Chef’s Choice



Restaurant Association of NZ Hospitality Personality of the Year:   An award for an individual, who over an extended period of time, has shown outstanding commitment to the betterment of Manawatu’s hospitality industry. The winner will be a well known personality through their continued involvement in the marketplace and will be respected industry-wide for business achievements.


Scott Coleman (Davis Trading)


Toops Chef of the Year:   An inspiration in all aspects of cooking. Creates great food and runs a superb, consistent kitchen.


1             Michael Brill (Bethany’s)

2             Craig Robinson (Melville House)


3             Alberto Pindot (Distinction Hotel)


Ebony Coffee Barista of the Year:   Professional and passionate about coffee making. Evaluates coffee- making to a true art form.

1             Yasemin Kavas (Rendezvous)

2             Sarah Dickson (Joseph Street Kitchen)


UCOL Emerging Chef of the Year:   A person showing the potential to become an outstanding chef. Shows great work ethic, attitude and is passionate about cooking.

1             James Zhan (Wharerata)

2             Sam Lee (Bethany’s)


3             Peter Dann (Copthorne Hotel)


Hospitality NZ Maitre d’ / F&B Host of the Year:   Demonstrates pace with grace and a totally unflappable

nature. This genuine ‘personality’ simply and consistently delivers the very best.

1             Yvette Kennedy (Nero)

2             Hannah McCaskie (Aberdeen)


3             Amy Carlyon (Table 188)


MHA Waiter of the Year:   Has full knowledge of food and beverage products. Uses

initiative, is perceptive, tactful and has a great personality. Good sales ability, sound skills, always well-groomed and a team player.


1             Hayden Temperley (Bella’s Café)

2             Matt Jenner (Aberdeen)


3             Rebe Sefton (Rendezvous)


Lion Breweries Bartender of the Year:   Superb product knowledge, amiable and discrete, with a unique personal style. Must possess excellent memory skills and sense of humour.

1             Alex Hyndman (The Fish)

2             Thomas Griggs (The Rose and Crown)


3             Andrew Williams (Copthorne Hotel)

The Sharon Mann Memorial Award for Outstanding continued support of hospitality in the region.

Ian McSweeney

Special thanks to our sponsors for their support for this event!