2016 Manawatu Hospitality Award Results

Bidvest Restaurant of the Year: 
The establishment offers a fine menu, service and welcoming ambience. It has ease of access and professional, well-tuned waiting staff.

1 Nero Restaurant

2 Amayjen the Restaurant

3 Table 188 Kitchen and Bar


Stonecold Distributors Ethnic Restaurant of the Year:
The establishment offers a fine menu, service and welcoming ambience and reflects authentic national cuisine. It has ease of access and professional, well-tuned waiting staff.

1 Yatai

2 Arranged Marriage

3 Yeda


Davis Trading Café of the Year:
The café offers vibrancy, with personable staff. It’s in tune with current café trends and expectations. The coffee is superb with great food and slick service.

1 Café Express

2 Bethany’s Restaurant & Cafe

3 Stage Door Café


Manawatu Standard Conference and Event Venue of the Year:
An organisation that provides the complete professional service package that exceeds the client’s expectations every step of the way.

1 Hotel Coachman

2 Wharerata

3 Awapuni Function Centre


Riverlea Caterer of the Year:
An individual or company which provides quality food and beverage menus served by professional staff with consummate decorum. They heed all requirements of the event and anticipate every contingency.

1 Not Now James Catering

2 Boatshed Catering at the Chalet

3 HG Catering


Tootill Electrical Takeaway of the Year:
The takeaway provides quality fast food along with exceptional customer service. Offers value and variety.

1 Burger Fuel

2 Fishtown Takeaways

3 Annie’s Takeaways


Gilmours’ Pub of the Year:
Friendly, comfortable surrounds. Good food and beverage and service with a smile.

1 Celtic Inn

2 Murray’s Irish Bar - Feilding

3 Rose & Crown Olde English Pub


Southern Hospitality Bar/Night Spot of the Year:
Great atmosphere and music with a broad selection of drinks. Trendy, fashionable night spot. The place to be seen.

1 The Brewers Apprentice

2 Bubbles Champagne and Wine Bar

3 The Fish Cocktail & Wine Bar


Fonterra Supplier of the Year:
Consistent and prompt product delivery. Committed to top quality and innovative products. Demonstrates customer loyalty.

1 Bidvest Foodservice

2 Davis Trading

3 Ebony Coffee


Restaurant Association of NZ Hospitality Personality of the Year:
An award for an individual, who over an extended period of time, has shown outstanding commitment to the betterment of Manawatu’s hospitality industry. The winner will be a well known personality through their continued involvement in the marketplace and will be respected industry-wide for business achievements.

Scott Kennedy (Nero)


Chef’s Choice Chef of the Year:
An inspiration in all aspects of cooking. Creates great food and runs a superb, consistent kitchen.

1 Michael Brill (Bethany’s)

2 Taka Moriyama (Wharerata)

3 Jonathon Mawley (Copthorne)


Ebony Coffee Barista of the Year:
Professional and passionate about coffee making. Evaluates coffee- making to a true art form.

1 Rach Withington (Ebony Coffee)

2 Chris Monk (Arrosta Coffee)

3 Lee Smither (Wharerata Function Centre)


UCOL Emerging Chef of the Year:
A person showing the potential to become an outstanding chef. Shows great work ethic, attitude and is passionate about cooking.

1 William Petrie (Wharerata)

2 ArianaSword (The Fat Farmer)

3 Tiffany Wood (The Fat Farmer)


MHA Hospitality NZ Maitre d’ /  Host of the Year:
Demonstrates pace with grace and a totally unflappable nature. This genuine ‘personality’ simply and consistently delivers the very best.

1 Jenni May (Amayjen)

2 Yvette Kennedy (Nero)

3 Sarah Ashton (Aberdeen)


Steinlager Waiter of the Year:
Has full knowledge of food and beverage products. Uses initiative, is perceptive, tactful and has a great personality. Good sales ability, sound skills, always well-groomed

and a team player.

1 Jake Braid (Yatai)

2 Amy Robinson (Nero)

3 Hayden Temperley (Aberdeen)


Hospitality NZ Bartender of the Year:
Superb product knowledge, amiable and discrete, with a unique personal style. Must possess excellent memory skills and sense of humour.

1 Bradley Nelson (The Fish)

2 Whitney Rademaker (The Daily)

3 Zoe Badland (Bubbles)


The Sharon Mann Memorial Award for Outstanding continued support of hospitality in the region.

Sean Kereama